Veronica’s #WritersDiary, #AprilFools???

Well hello, April! Is it just me, or have you felt like you’ve been in a continuous April Fools prank/hoax/say it ain’t so #QuarantineLife do-loop for the past few weeks? Rationing toilet paper (so not funny), binge watching Christmas movies on spring weekends (thank you Hallmark Channel), watching the stock market crash and burn (I can’t look anymore), social distancing (anyone, anyone?), washing your hands (my finger wrinkles have wrinkles) and stalking the grocery stores for supplies has become the new norm (Raiders of the Lost Wipes). Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like we’ll be returning to normal (whatever that is) anytime soon. So, for this post I thought I’d try to lighten the mood by sharing pictures I find humorous, and just perhaps might put a hint of a grin on your face too, enjoy!

My fav horse head in Hyde Park; Sign outside of the Bergen airport–don’t they know?

Hot air balloons in Albuquerque; It is real…(I-64 in North Carolina)

I think Ebbie is over #QuarantineLife; love that British pub humor

Eyeballs, Texas (Dallas) style!; Yee-hah! Are we having fun yet? (Jackson Hole)

The good news is that we are getting closer to the end of the quarantine—I don’t know exactly when, a month, two months, but it will come. In the meantime, help yourself to a little extra TLC, you deserve it! We are in weird times, but you’re not alone, it will get better, and one day soon we’ll be in better days. It’s Wednesday, time for #DearDiary:

How are your book sales going?

I’m interested in finding ways to promote my books as well as the works of others. I’ve tried price reductions, and that doesn’t seem to motivate much. I’ve heard from other authors who have given away free copies for a limited time–and many have not had great results with that strategy either. I’m interested to hear your ideas on what has worked for you if you’d be willing to share–I’d like to do a blog post on the topic and feature #writers and their #sales strategies experiences. Leave me a comment below if you’d be willing to be interviewed and be featured in an upcoming post. Thank you!

reading is my superpower

#AmReading #AmReviewing

Treasure hunt escapism this week from the #writers of Twitter…

Author Don Johnson, Haiti’s UnderWater City, Dime Store Novellettes, 5 STARS

What a treat to read a ‘real life’ treasure hunter’s tale of adventure, fun, local life, and a little history thrown in the mix to get the blood flowing! Author Don Johnson gives readers a unique perspective of life in the treasure hunter lane with his Dime Store Novellettes. He has a one of a kind narrative style, filled with his insights, observations and 45 years of experience from his world travels that keeps you wanting more.

This adventure starts with the tale of a lost Haitian city, which was felled into the ocean by a deadly earthquake in the 1600s. Rumor had it the city was filled with pirated treasures, but with these adventures comes sharks, more earthquakes and the realities of a nation in poverty. Within each chapter, we explore new areas of the underwater city, live through the dangers first hand (the wigglies), and celebrate when the bounty is found. We also get the behind the scenes experiences of interacting with the locals and abiding by their customs and traditions, all told with respect, humor and joie de vivre spirit.

As Author Johnson explains, his Dime Store Novellettes are “short ‘bookes’ designed to ‘inform, educate and entertain’ in the style of ‘Mark Twain, O’Henry’ and our own creative flavor…” Author Johnson is a treasure hunting adventurer with a heart of gold, offering a unique perspective of what is happening on our planet. This was my first Dime Store Novellette read, but it won’t be my last! A fun, exciting, inciteful read, highly recommended!

Next up in the #reading queue: 

downton abbey cocktail book

Anyone interested in #quarantini recipes?

It certainly seems to be a topic of interest on social media these days–‘is it 5 o’clock yet?‘ seems to have gone with the wind as the cocktail hour is now 4pm, 2pm, well whenever, lol! For those of you who would be interested in a drink from my favorite series, I thought I’d post a few pages of my fav #DA libations, enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome to my world. Wishing you a very peaceful, healthy #week and #weekend friends!

Crowns and Kisses,

Veronica

P.S. Thought I’d sneak in a few ‘pupparazzi’ shots of my favorite little doggie who has captured everyone’s heart at Cherrywood Hall in my upcoming book, Double Trouble. Seems like Teddy is living quite the high #QuarantineLife at the lake. Lucky pooch with his beautiful ‘Mama’ ♥ Gemma most definitely approves 🙂

 

 

 

Author: My American Almost Royal Cousin Series by Veronica Cline Barton

Hi, I'm Veronica, writer of books in the My American Almost Royal Cousin Series now on Amazon! I'm a lover of all things royal, in castles, wearing marvelous boots! My series gives readers of cozy British mysteries an American twist! Explore the world of a period drama TV series being made on a glamorous British estate. My heroine Gemma has her work cut out for her, dealing with mysteries, murder, intrigue and a little romance. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Veronica’s #WritersDiary, #AprilFools???”

Leave a comment